Here’s to Ringing in the New Year- Sparkling Pomegranate Cocktail

31 Dec

I feel like I’ve haven’t posted in so long. We went away for New Year’s so I didn’t have any internet access to update the blog. I was writing a New Year’s post right before we left so here’s a Sparkling Pomegranate Cocktail recipe for you. Happy Belated New Years! (when does the new year get old anyways πŸ™‚:

Well 2010 is ending soon. It was definitely a year of high and lows and now I’m looking forward to 2011. But before then, let’s enjoy what we have left this year. New Year’s Eve is always a day for family get-togethers and fireworks. And who can forget the infamous countdown to midnight. I’ve got the perfect recipe for ringing in the new year: Sparkling Pomegranate Cocktail. I made a non-alcoholic version but you can substitute other drinks for the sparkling grape juice I used.

(By the way, do you like the CD coasters? πŸ™‚

Here’s what you need to make this delicious drink:

  • 3 cups of sparkling grape juice- I think this adds a unique flavor to the drink but you can definitely substitute other kinds of “bubbly” instead.
  • 2 cups of pomegranate juice- I bought the POM brand of pomegranate juice. Have you heard of any others?
  • 1 1/2 cups of orange juice
  • To add some originality to the drink, I put in a couple of dried cranberries that were infused with pomegranate juice. I also tried adding some peppermint to the drink by stirring a candy cane in the drink. It didn’t do too much so I crushed some up, put some lime juice on the edge of the glasses, and adding the peppermint there.

Measure out all your ingredients. Be sure to get a pitcher or bowl large enough to put all of the drink in.

Stir and enjoy!

Try this tonight! But this drink is great for all occasions. Happy New Year!!

Well that’s my belated blog post. Hope it wasn’t too out of date for you πŸ™‚ I hope everyone has a great 2011!

2 Responses to “Here’s to Ringing in the New Year- Sparkling Pomegranate Cocktail”

  1. Warren January 2, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Great drink! Of course, being Irish, I will have to make it hi-test. πŸ™‚ Btw, if you need more coasters, they’re having a Barry Manilow CD sale at LameMusic.com. Be sure to stock up!

    • jen7714 January 8, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks! I hope you try it out. And thanks for the link (although we have stacks and stacks of them πŸ™‚ I’m glad you liked the post.

Leave a Reply

